Skip to content

Counties and municipalities, v1:1970

Please notice, this version is no longer current.




Before 1970, Denmark was divided into approx. 1300 parish municipalities, 86 market town municipalities and 25 counties. The Danish Municipal Reform in 1970 resulted by law in a new local and regional structure for the whole country with two administrative levels - municipalities and counties - and thereby a change of administrative units.

With the Danish Municipal Reform in 1970, the number of counties was reduced to 14 and municipalities to 277. Copenhagen Municipality (code 101) and Frederiksberg Municipality (code 147) were the only ones assigned both county and municipal tasks.

From 1 April 1974, Sengeløse Municipality was incorporated into Høje-Taastrup Municipality (code 169) and Store Magleby Municipality was incorporated into Dragør Municipality (code 155), which reduced the total number of municipalities to 275.

This classification includes Christiansø (code 411). Christiansø is not part of a municipality. Instead it is administered directly by the state through the Danish Ministry of Defence.

The geographical breakdown of counties and municipalities is consistent with the Nomenclature of territorial units for statistics (NUTS).

Valid from:

January 1, 1970

Valid to:

December 31, 2002


Methodology and Analysis


Rasmus Anker Stavad,, ph. +45 39 17 35 32
Codes and categories
All versions
Name Valid from Valid to
Counties and municipalities, v1:1970 January 1, 1970 December 31, 2002
Counties and municipalities, v2:2003 January 1, 1970 December 31, 2005
Counties and municipalities, v3:2006 January 1, 1970 December 31, 2006